• Welcome to AlpineZone, the largest online community of skiers and snowboarders in the Northeast!

You may have to REGISTER before you can post. Registering is FREE, gets rid of the majority of advertisements, and lets you participate in giveaways and other AlpineZone events!

Hunter Mountain Learning Center

Phildozer

Anyone been to Hunter Mountain's new Learning Center?

I have a friend looking to introduce his kids to skiing and wants to go somewhere that's easy to get them set up with skis and such. Hunter's the closest mountain for him but will travel if necessary.

Thanks.

JimG.

Staff member
I've been a Hunter regular for decades...I've been a coach/instructor there for almost as long. The learning center is great; it has certainly made getting lessons and equipment rentals easier than in the past.

Some folks are going to tell you how obnoxious Hunter is and how crowded it is. Don't believe them, it's just like any other hill. Some will tell you they've had bad instructors; that can happen anywhere. PSIA has been running an ongoing research project at Hunter for several years to plan the future direction of beginner programs at ALL mountains in the northeast. Hunter simply has some of the best beginner terrain anywhere and PSIA has recognized that fact.

When is your friend planning on going?

JimG.

Staff member
highpeaksdrifter said:
Dang JimmyG, gettin kind of defensive arn't ya?

You got that right; I stand up tall for my hill!

Just pre-empting all of the remarks by folks who've been there once and had a bad experience from discouraging this prospect.

JimG.

Staff member
highpeaksdrifter said:
Good for you, but it sucks that you have to feel that way even before anyone makes a comment.

Well, unfortunately Hunter earned that reputation from days past. Alot has changed for the better, but one bad experience can often be hard to overcome.

But we keep trying anyway...Rome wasn't built in a day.

Son of Drifter